Gunnera

gunnera new


A friend recently posted a picture on Facebook of her Washington-state yard. Like most Washington-state yards at this time of year, it was mostly under two inches of water. Off to one side, however, was the most spectacularly huge-leaved plant:

 

gunnera manicata

I mistook it for a Philodendron selloum, which was unlikely, even in warm wet Washington, but my friend quickly corrected me. It is, in fact, a Gunnera manicata.

Gunnera’s glory is its foliage. The leaves, as you can see, are comically gigantic. It’s sometimes called “wild rhubarb,” as the leaves very much resemble those of rhubarb, and some gardeners call it “dinosaur plant,” for obvious reasons. Can’t you just picture a brontosaurus peacefully chomping on it?

 

The more I studied the picture, the more I knew I’d seen it before. I went through some old photos and found it in Adare, a picturesque Irish village Partner and I visited in 2007; it was growing at the boggy end of a public park, and its leaves were so spectacular that I had to take a picture of it. I discovered online that it’s a moderately common garden plant in Ireland; locals sometimes pick the leaves and use them as umbrellas.

 

gunnera ireland 2007

Gardens should always be a mix of old and new, common and unexpected, big and small. We love to see a hundred daffodils in bloom, but we need the darkness of tall ominous pine trees behind them to make them shine. We cherish our one-blossom-at-a-time borders, but we need something big and splashy to give them drama.
 

 

Gunnera, with its rich green tablecloth-sized leaves, will give your garden all the drama it needs.

 

Just don’t blame me if you start attracting dinosaurs.


 

About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworldonline@verizon.net.

6 Responses to Gunnera

  1. How nice that you remembered the old photo of you with a Gunnera…no wonder it “spoke” to you! The leaves go down in winter, here, and manage to get that huge size from fresh growth each year.

    • I was reading about Gunnera in Wikipedia, and it mentioned that it was often featured in Irish gardens; ladies used to use the leaves as umbrellas. That rang a bell, and I remembered seeing it in a park in Adare; I’d never seen it before as far as I knew, and was blown away by the size of the leaves. My mother’s rhubarb used to do the same thing – go from nothing to huge leaves in a few months.

  2. Alice Sylvia says:

    I would hide behind a Gunnera leaf if the plant attracted a dinosaur.

  3. starproms says:

    I’m familiar with those although I’ve never grown them myself. They are very architectural plants and look great in the right setting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 425 other followers

