For New Year’s Day: I’m going to reform!

archy

You know I try to provide something different for holidays.

Well, here it is, New Year’s Day 2013, and I have nothing.

No songs, no pertinent video clip, no nothing. This is my fifty-sixth New Year’s Day on earth, and I find that I have nothing inspirational to share.

Well, maybe one thing: a quatrain from Don Marquis, written by the cockroach Archy. Archy kept slipping, and repenting, and rebelling, and falling into line again. This is from one of his more repentant periods:

i sing the glad noo year

that s tending toward the norm

my song is one of cheer

i m going to reform

That’s a nice all-purpose resolution.

Happy New Year, kids.


About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

Leave a Reply

