For Sunday: Derek and the Dominos sing “Layla”

Layla_(Derek_and_the_Dominoes)_coverart


This is one of the great rock songs of all time. I grew up with it on the radio all the time, and didn’t really notice it all that much. Now I listen to it, and I think: Wow!

It was written by Eric Clapton, because he was in love with George Harrison’s wife Pattie.

Enjoy.


About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

6 Responses to For Sunday: Derek and the Dominos sing “Layla”

  1. One of the greats. Happy Sunday morning!

  2. starproms says:

    I saw Eric Clapton when he was playing with The John Mayall Blues Band. They played in a large marquee in my local park, way back when. I had no idea at the time how great Eric Clapton would become. When I saw aforesaid, it was 1966, just remembered and way before Layla came out but I remember the night. It was great. Wish I could revisit.
    Love Layla, never get fed up with that one.

    • Never saw Eric Clapton, and would love to.

      My only close encounter with a famous musician: the Kinks were in the US in 1978 (when they were in a dry spell), and a friend dragged me to the concert, and they were great – and we waited backstage and met them after the concert. Ray Davies was hysterically funny, and he signed everything my friend gave him, even her copy of “Pippi Longstocking.” I will always respect him for treating a fan so well.

      • starproms says:

        Ahh that’s so nice. I’ve always been a fan of the Kinks, especially Ray Davies. I saw the Kinks once and Ray Davies quite recently when he was doing a solo tour. He is very talented – the John Lennon of the group if you know what I mean. Love their music too. I was lucky to be just the right age over here when the Beatles, Kinks, Who and Rolling Stones etc. were just getting famous.

      • Ray Davies was perfectly lovely to my friend. Dave, his brother, on the other hand, charged past us as if he were enraged. (Which my friend pretty much expected, apparently.)

Leave a Reply

