Bacteria

bacteria


I lose things all the time. In the office, it’s usually my coffee cup. I bought two identical cups, just so that I could lose one and not disrupt my routine.

 

 

One of them disappeared about two months ago, but, just the other day, I found it.

 

 

O children it was horrible. There’d been a little coffee in the cup, which dried and bred some kind of horrible fungus / bacterial stew. There were odd geometric structures at the bottom of the cup that looked like something out of a science fiction novel.

 

 

When I tried to rinse out the cup, the bacterial remains not only stayed put, but they stayed dry: they repelled water as if they were made of wax. Not even hot water made a difference. Detergent wetted them a little, but not much.

 

 

Finally I filled the cup with rubbing alcohol and put it aside.

 

 

Who knows what happened in that cup? Maybe whole bacterial / fungal civilizations lived and died and fought and loved. Maybe – eep! – they’re still there, wearing microscopic scuba gear and zipping through their new alcohol sea.

 

 

I don’t know.

 

 

Hmm.  Even if I ever get it clean, do you think I’ll ever have the nerve to drink out of that cup again?

 

 

And does anyone out there own an autoclave?


 

About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

Leave a Reply

