For Sunday: Art Garfunkel sings “I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever)”

garfunkel i believe


 

Art Garfunkel released his “Breakaway” album when I was in college. My friends and I listened to it incessantly. It’s sort of a theme album; it begins with heartfelt declarations of love (this is the first song on Side I), progresses through all kinds of ups and downs, and ends in heartbreak (the last song is “The Same Old Tears on a New Background”).

 

 

This song was written by Stevie Wonder. It has a strange ecstatic power, especially as performed here. I see that Josh Groban has covered it; I can’t imagine he improved on Garfunkel’s performance.

 

 

Enjoy.

 

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8-FnibcoaA


 

 

About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

2 Responses to For Sunday: Art Garfunkel sings “I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever)”

  1. starproms says:

    Oh yes, I know it well and love it too. He has a wonderful voice hasn’t he!

Leave a Reply

