The face of winter

old man winter


Springtime is back in Providence, and – I don’t know – it never cheers me up. When spring comes, I almost always feel tired and lethargic. There’s a feeling of: Here we go again. And a feeling of: How many times do we have to do this?

 

 

Anyway, I have been a little fatigued lately, and it has affected my usual good looks. I took a glance into the mirror at the office the other day, and I gasped: I looked awful. My graying hair was standing up in all directions, and my complexion was pale, and I was hunched over like an invalid. My god, I thought. I’m Old Man Winter.

 

 

It’s awful, because I know inside that my spirit is still young. And then I look into the mirror and see a crouching horrible gargoyle looking back at me.

 

 

I just passed the age of fifty-five last year, and it made me thoughtful. Partner and I still have a few years together, I hope, before my bones begin to crumble into sawdust, or before the next asteroid hits.

 

 

We will stumble on together for a while, at least, in happiness. Every day together is a blessing.

 

 

I only hope Partner can endure seeing the face of Old Man Winter first thing every morning for a few years more.


 

About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

2 Responses to The face of winter

  1. starproms says:

    I don’t think we look the same to other people as we do to ourselves. Perhaps the first thing your partner sees in the morning is your smile. That would surpass any grey hair sticking up in all directions.

Leave a Reply

