For Sunday: “Only A Northern Song,” by the Beatles

only a northern song


This song is on the Beatles’ “Yellow Submarine” album. It ain’t very danceable. But I love it. (I guess I have a taste for interesting dissonance.)

When you’re listening late at night

You may think the bands are not quite right

But they are

They just play it like that

Enjoy.

 

About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

2 Responses to For Sunday: “Only A Northern Song,” by the Beatles

  1. starproms says:

    I was about 9 or 10 when the Beatles first came on the scene and just having awakenings about that other adult world, which up till then had been a total mystery. I came in with the Beatles and I love all their early work. This one is not too familiar but I love the film Yellow Submarine. I have always loved Jeremy, the nowhere man. Thank you for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

