Colors

colors


For years I wore mostly dull colors: gray and brown and blue (especially blue, because it brings out my eyes, tee hee).

 

 

Then, some years ago, I made a breakthrough, and I began to wear red shirts, and orange, and yellow, and chartreuse.

 

 

Now I love bright colors. I have a marigold-orange shirt, very vivid, and when I wore it a few weeks ago – “ORANGE!” a coworker shrieked. “I look at you, and all I can think of is ORANGE!”

 

 

Colors are important. They’re all around us, and we need to appreciate them. This is Pride Month, after all, with a flag that looks like this:

 

 

pride-flag

The colors have meanings: red is life, orange is healing, yellow is sunlight, green is nature, blue is harmony, and purple is spirit.

 

(The original flag included pink for sexuality and turquoise for magic/art. I wish they were still included.)

 

To quote Vampire Weekend:

 

Did you stay up

To see the dawn

In the colors

Of Benetton?

 

 

I love that song. It’s full of life and art and magic and sunlight and spirituality. Let’s hear it:

 

 

 


 

About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

8 Responses to Colors

  1. Malou says:

    Beautiful post, Loren! Because I live here in Holland, this flag is quite a common sight but I never looked at interpreting the colors. Thank you for the explanation. 😉

  2. Did not know about the pink and turquoise. Fascinating!

    • RuPaul did an episode of “Drag Race” based on Stonewall, and the original flag. It amazed me that the younger contestants knew absolutely nothing about it, or Stonewall, or much of anything.

  3. starproms says:

    How interesting. Yes I love colours too the more the merrier. My garden is a riot of colours and so is my wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

