For Sunday: the Velvet Underground performs “Femme Fatale” (featuring Nico)

femme fatale


I first discovered the Velvet Underground when I was in graduate school in 1978. Their classic album (with the Andy Warhol banana on the cover) was eleven years old, even then. But I still sing the songs to myself, under my breath, in 2013: they’re still fresh and interesting, especially “Sunday Morning” and “Heroin” and “All Tomorrow’s Parties.”

And, naturally, “Femme Fatale.”

Nico (the lead singer) was a model / actress / singer / heroin addict. She had a strong deep voice and a strange accent, which made her interesting to listen to.

Enjoy.


About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

5 Responses to For Sunday: the Velvet Underground performs “Femme Fatale” (featuring Nico)

  1. Have loved that weird little song for years.

  2. Thanks for reminding me of it.

  3. starproms says:

    Not on my list of favourites, I’m afraid. However, I’m in the minority I think. The V. Und. had more success as the years went by I think. They’re a sort of cult group now, aren’t they.

    • They really did very little while they were together – probably twenty or thirty songs total. It was really just that quiet mysterious sound they had; it was very original, and I still like hearing it sometimes.

Leave a Reply

