I am a squid

i am a squid jpg


“What’s your spirit animal?” Apollonia asked me recently. (You have to understand that these kinds of queries are common, and even natural, between us.)

I considered briefly. “What’s yours?” I asked, to gain time.

“Wolf,” she said.

“She-wolf,” I said. “Appropriate.”

She shook her head. “Alpha wolf. Leader of the pack.”

I nodded. “I can see it. Okay. I’ve got mine. Squid.”

She grimaced, then nodded. “Okay. Reasons?”

“One,” I said. “It can swim, and I can’t. I’d like to be able to swim. Two: it can squirt ink at people with whom it’s pissed off. Three: it’s supposed to be very intelligent. Four: it’s delicious when fried with jalapenos.”

A few days later, I discovered why Apollonia asked this question: she was sending me an Amazon gift card for my birthday, and was trying to find an appropriate design (they offer quite a few). They don’t do squid, but they have a very cute octopus.

I still like squid better. They taste better, at any rate. Click here to see a video with Isabella Rosselini on the sex-life of the squid.

Except, maybe, after you see it, calamari won’t be so delicious anymore.


About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

2 Responses to I am a squid

  1. starproms says:

    Well that is unusual! I don’t know what my spirit animal is but if I had to guess, it would also be some kind of a dog, not a wolf, but a dog. I had a dog once when I was small. It was half Alsation, half collie (like Lassie) and I loved him to bits. That would be my perfect spirit animal if I had one. I’ve never given any thought to squid but I will now. Maybe I’ll even try one one day?

    • I hated the idea of eating squid a long time ago; a friend cooked it for me (in tomato sauce) in the 1990s and it was tough and inedible. It was only later that I had good tender fried squid – which is delicious. Just don’t think about what it looks like when it’s alive.

Leave a Reply

