Cannas

canna

I wrote recently about hostas, those garden-foliage favorites with dull purple flowers, and how dull they are.

 

 

Cannas are the opposite of hostas. They are the opposite of dull and ordinary. They are exciting and unusual.

 

 

I first saw them growing alongside my grandmother’s house in Selleck, Washington, back in the 1960s. I found them unbelievable: five-foot stalks with blazing crimson flowers, and gorgeous dark-green foliage.

 

 

They are huge and dramatic, and what’s the matter with a little drama in the summertime? They also seem to grow easily; I see them in sidewalk pots all over the city of Providence.

 

 

They always make me smile when I see them. Here, in Providence’s Wayland Square, merchants put them in pots, and they thrive.

 

 

They are the torches of summertime.

 

 

Rejoice in them.


 

About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

3 Responses to Cannas

  1. “Tropicalismo!”

  2. starproms says:

    Yes Loren, they are gorgeous, aren’t they. I don’t see so many over here. I guess they’re hiding deep within people’s gardens, protected! but I’ve seen them on gardening programmes and they are very dramatic. I love dramatic colours too.

    • They don’t seem to be difficult to grow – people have them in big pots here, and if my grandmother could grow them, they must be easy. But they’re big, and you have to have room for them.

Leave a Reply

