Nicknames

nicknames


I’ve spoken before about nicknames in my family. My mother Tosca was “Shim,” and her brother Primo was “Bud,” et cetera.

Well, my friend Apollonia has taken this to new heights.

Every day she comes up with a new name for me. Today it was “Gort.” (Klaatu barada nikto!) The other day it was “vigliacco,” which is the Italian word for someone beneath contempt.

I, on the other hand, give her only lovely reverent names, like “Principessa,” and “Miss Kim Novak,” and “Mother Nature,” and “Reverend Mother,” and “Great Old One.”

You can tell that we plan these ahead. I think about it in the morning, and I can tell she’s planned hers too.

It demonstrates that we care for one another.

For tomorrow: what do you think about “Ursula the Sea Witch”?


 

About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

Leave a Reply

