Purple socks

purple socks

________________________________________
In Graham Greene’s novel “Monsignor Quixote,” we meet an elderly innocent Spanish Catholic priest, who learns that he’s been promoted to Monsignor. He is very excited about this, because he now gets to wear purple socks.
You know I love purple. I have a couple of purple shirts, ranging in color from Concord grape to light lavender, with several shades in between. A long time ago I bought a lavender enamel star to wear on my lapel, and I told people it was a symbol for gay rights (this was before we had any kind of established symbols, so you could tell people anything and they’d believe you).
But never before did I have a pair of purple socks (see above). They’re pale lilac, with little nubs. Naturally they’re Italian.
Story: there’s a nice little men’s-clothing shop in our neighborhood called Milan. The clothes are beautiful, but they are far too highly-priced for my dollar-store lifestyle. Though their window I could see a lovely display of socks: lemon-yellow, pale lime-green, pale lilac. I have admired them out loud to Partner many times.
The other night Partner surprised me with a pair of lovely purple socks. He pretended that our little stuffed dog Blot Malloy bought them for me. This is Blot:

 

blotmalloy
I ask you, does he look like he has the money to buy Italian socks?
Partner finally confessed that he’d bought them for me. I asked them how much they cost, and he wouldn’t tell me. “I’ll admit,” he said, “that they were more expensive than any socks I ever bought before.”
I wore them to work the very next day, in combination with black pants and a pale-lavender shirt. I showed them to a number of people, and they were dazzled. One even said: “And look! You’re wearing a purple shirt too!”
To which I replied: “Did you think that was a coincidence?”
________________________________________

About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

6 Responses to Purple socks

  1. Lovely. I just bought a purple hoodie! My evil town nemesis, who hated the purple trim on my house, cried “Why PURPLE?”

  2. starproms says:

    Very enjoyable Loren. I’m sure they match perfectly and no! I don’t think Blot is the sort of fella who could afford those indulgencies.

Leave a Reply

