Feeding tube

feeding tube


I’m having a feeding tube installed next Friday. It’s a tube going directly into my stomach, which will enable me to “eat” if/when I’m not able to swallow anymore.

Ew!

The procedure, my gastroenterologist informs me, is very simple. (He’s a cutie – short, paunchy, salt-and-pepper, very bouncy). It involves passing a wire from my mouth through my stomach, and – oh, you don’t want to know.

Anyway, I’ll have a little tube going directly into my stomach. I will be able to introduce food directly into my stomach via the tube and some sort of syringe-type device. (The cancer treatments will burn my throat, and it may be too painful for me to swallow – or I may lose the ability to swallow altogether. Again, kids: ew!)

What do I feed myself with? According to Partner’s sister: meatballs. According to Cute Gastroenterologist – “Oh, you know, like Ensure, or Envive, or something else.”

Ensure is good, but expensive; twenty-four cans cost more than a dollar apiece in BJs.

Carnation Breakfast Solutions (which was once called “Carnation Instant Breakfast”) is much cheaper, and has all the same ingredients – protein, vitamins, etc.

I checked it out down at the local grocery. Ten packets were five dollars and change, and weighed maybe half a pound. A bulk container of the stuff, with almost a kilo of the powder, cost the same.

So I think I know what I’ll be buying.

How do I know it’s powder? I dropped the container while I was checking out the contents. It went all over the place, and exploded like a bomb on the floor in Aisle 10.

I got away from there as fast as I could.

Don’t worry: they overcharge, and we shop there regularly. We get our money back.

But I felt like a silly old man as I legged it away from there, rather than summoning a store employee and apologizing meekly.

Oh, who cares? They clean up messes all the time.


About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

6 Responses to Feeding tube

  1. Allan mixes it with his coffee. On purpose!! Daily. He calls it a nutritional mocha.

    Hmm

    Oh my. Stuck again on finding something Pollyanna ish to say.

    I read an Internet picture thing (photo and text) of a young man saying he loved his feeding tube because it kept him alive.

    That’s all I got except for lots of sympathy.

  2. Our friend and his wife still go out to restaurants; they get a few looks, but you probably get that now just for being you! He also tastes most things on his tongue so as to keep that food interest alive. One step at a time; this too will pass; I believe these things even if I’m often full of shit.

  3. starproms says:

    Well, what can I say? I know…. think of the weight you will lose 🙂 you’ll be as slim as a pin in no time at all, won’t you. That should make you smile (just a little). Meanwhile, stuff yourself with doughnuts?

Leave a Reply

