I am not George Bailey

i am not george bailey


A kind co-worker checked in on me recently, knowing about my recent diagnosis of cancer, and I told her that I was really overwhelmed by how kind people were being to me. “Well,” she said, “remember George Bailey.”

 

 

Hmph! I am not George Bailey.

 

 

I am not a nice person. I am sometimes kind, but wise also, like the offspring of a bunny rabbit and a cobra.

 

 

I want to be good to people, but not necessarily to everyone, and not necessarily all the time. And I have a vicious tendency to be nasty to people who are nasty to me.

 

 

George Bailey (aka Jimmy Stewart, the big sap in “It’s a Wonderful Life”) went through his life unaware that he was just acting perfectly toward people – kind, generous, etc., etc.

 

 

I have no such illusions.

 

 

I am often unkind. I am sometimes mean. I have done unforgivable things (meaning that I have done things to people who are dead and who can’t possibly forgive me for them). I’ve been unpleasant and angry. I’ve been rude (probably on a weekly basis).

 

 

Repeat: I am not George Bailey.

 

 

If I live through this thing, I think it means that Frank Capra didn’t know everything after all.

 

 

(And, in case you can’t tell, I can’t stand that stupid movie. Life is just more complicated than that.)


 

About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

2 Responses to I am not George Bailey

  1. starproms says:

    Oh, that’s one of my favourites Loren. I always watch it at Christmas and I always cry at the end! Everybody needs a little escapism from time to time.

Leave a Reply

