Patti Page maple syrup

patti page


It’s time to think about holiday giving. People aren’t getting much from me this year; if I have the strength to bake a few Russian teacakes and put them in cute little containers, that’ll be about the size of it.

But some years I do better. There are always catalog gifts (who doesn’t like a cheese wheel?). And sometimes I come up with something absolutely brilliant, which then falls flat.

One year Partner came up with the best gift ever: bottles of Patti Page maple syrup, straight from New Hampshire. Patti Page was a 1950s singer who, upon retirement, moved north, bought a maple orchard, and started bottling her own syrup. The syrup was okay, but the bottle was incredible.  There was a little light-activated mechanism inside the cap; as soon as you opened the bottle, Patti warbled a little sugary-sweet maple-syrup song.

This was absolutely perfect, I thought. So I bought half-a-dozen bottles, and sent them out, and  –

Almost no response. “Thanks for the syrup,” I got from one or two people.

Then, over the next few years, I started getting little messages from those same people. “Did you know that that bottle of syrup sings a song? We just opened it, and –“

Oh yes. It took some of them two years or so to open my gift.

Merry Christmas!


About Loren Williams
Gay, partnered, living in Providence, working at a local university. Loves: books, movies, TV. Comments and recriminations can be sent to futureworld@cox.net.

7 Responses to Patti Page maple syrup

  1. Scott says:

    I still have the bottle cap in the top silverware drawer in my kitchen so every time I open the drawer it sings to me. Thought the sound is getting more and more scratchy, it’s still the gift that keeps giving. Haha

  2. starproms says:

    What an original idea. I love Maple Syrup, but it’s so expensive. Who wouldn’t love a gift of it!

  3. Norma says:

    Does anyone know where I can buy one of the Patti Page of Maple Syrup with the singing cap?

Leave a Reply

